Model Citizens: The Creative Adaptation

One of the dopest adaptations we studied was none other than Matt Groening’s take on E.A Poe’s The Raven.

A true classic of literature made into a classic of television and pop culture.

It is through ideas like this that The Simpsons have cemented itself as THE best show in television history.

That’s right.

*********************************************************************

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
“‘Tis some visitor,” I muttered, “tapping at my chamber door-
Only this, and nothing more.”
Ah, distinctly I remember it was in the bleak December,
And each separate dying ember wrought its ghost upon the floor.
Eagerly I wished the morrow;-vainly I had sought to borrow
From my books surcease of sorrow-sorrow for the lost Lenore-
For the rare and radiant maiden whom the angels name Lenore-
Nameless here for evermore.

*********************************************************************

Check out the video here: The Raven

And check out the original poem, which happens to be frickin’ awesome, here: http://classiclit.about.com/od/ravenedgarallanpoe/a/The-Raven-Poem.htm

1 Comment

Filed under Miscellaneous, People who inspire me

One response to “Model Citizens: The Creative Adaptation

  1. Pingback: Reading Digest: Presidential Heads Edition « Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

